Snowflake II

A Christmas poem

Photo by Jasmin Schuler on Unsplash

The night

is a flurry white

of glory from heaven.

Expectant

I venture out

to delight

In snowstars falling.

(stars

that cling to me

and melt

with a mere whisper).

No fellow shepherds

join my reverie

as pilgrim steps

lead

to a snowy

church-lit

nativity.

Is God’s glory

sought

by so few?

I doubt

that even a shout

of joy would do

to awaken

the world

to wonder.

How silently

how silently

the wondrous Gift

is given.

(Note: Snowflake I is here: https://margiehorddemendez.medium.com/snowflake-fe65504d332e?fbclid=IwAR3oUx7OK0kc5UNin_cgDj__olFn2ZhFKx1qtVU3qAKb1VyCSHimzfXUBG0)

--

--

Margie Hord de Mendez

Canadian-Mexican linguist and translator, Margie loves to write about cross-cultural living, faith, family, aging gracefully… and more!